20/20

Posted: 01/03/2009 in birth, family, health, videos

abc’s 20/20 clip

yes, i watched. i wasn’t going to get upset. i didn’t last night. but today – i stumbled across a comment that set me off. 

this portrayed motherhood HORRIBLY! i am extremely disappointed. i expected this, yes. i accepted the interviewer to ask twisted questions and twist EVERYTHING everyone said and make it gross and disgusting. 

but still, i think i had a ting of hope. that maybe they wouldn’t twist it that badly. 

was it to the extreme, like the title said – sometimes, yes. but isn’t the world just a bit extreme??! someone calling the kettle black or is it just me? at least my extreme is something i’ve been spiritually led to and is absolutely the best for me and my family. where the extremes of the world are very far from spirituality and jesus and VERY far from the best for them and their family. 

do i want to nurse my child until they self-ween (approx. 8 yrs old), nope! but do i have that right, YEP! and you best not walk up to me and tell me it’s GROSS or that i’m perverted. like one of the interviewed mom’s said; if it’s not me (that is giving comfort by nursing or teaching a child to find comfort in a mother’s arms) then it is a pacifier or a blanket or food or things – does this sound familiar. the world has gone to THINGS to find comfort instead of physical contact with people and friends and family and relationships (the way God intended us to find comfort). i just think it’s high time we draw the connection between the development of pacifiers and man-made self-soothers used for infants and that being pushed and developed is what has breed a society as such today. THINGS THINGS THINGS! MORE MORE MORE! nothing ever soothes like a relationship with jesus 0r a person… 

oooh and when the interviewer said, isn’t choosing unassisted childbirth selfish! oh my! you have got to be kidding me! it is the FARTHEST thing from selfish. it is with everything important in mind. i understand that one may not understand because they have never walked this path before. i don’t expect you to understand, but i think respect can be expected. can’t i just as easily say, isn’t going to the hospital for pain meds selfish???

should i even start with the “doctor” or man who started telling me what MY role is a mother. that motherhood is all about “working yourself out of a job”. ROFL come on, you just have to laugh at that one, right?! or am i alone??? 

alrighty- officially off my soap box. 

5hjpfs5

Comments
  1. MC says:

    ouch! Society is so completely messed up! I don’t understand why they would “pick” on this! Society is so messed up because the normal things have become freakish because it’s all about “me me me” instead of what’s right and wrong, sigh 😦

  2. breanna says:

    mc – it’s a tough one for sure!! the one thing that bothered me was nursing an older child is strange to me, but STILL it’s not perverted – nor do i think it corrupts… i agree, it’s kinda like – don’t even go there… ya know!

  3. stampit74 says:

    why I don’t watch TV! They did this way back when you were a baby! They are so lacking for entertainment!!!! ugh!

  4. HTB, future MIL and I watched this last night together. I hoped it would be impactful to Jeremy and his mom, as I am an advocate of homebirthing and they are somewhat hesitant, for the obvious reasons being exactly what was stated in the show. I have to admit that I didn’t feel there was any attacking being done by the interviewer; I think she was asking questions that others in day to day life who don’t understand where we are coming from ask. Are they naive questions? Absolutely! But only through asking those naive questions are people educated. I hope that by the end of that show there was at least one women out there who got online and looked up “The Business of Being Born”. I was expecting to be offended by the question regarding selfishness, but I really felt rewarded by the way in which the interviewee (her name has escaped me) responded. She made a case for all of us who believe the choice to homebirth is a valid and valuable choice. My main disagreement with the interview was that homebirthing and unassisted childbirth were treated as the same which, in so many cases, they are not. I would have preferred to hear more information regarding unassisted childbirth, but the AMA probably had a large hand in this show being made and therefore the thought of women stating that having a baby is not an emergency situation and that doctors are more concerned with how many releases they can get from their hospital in hopes of making the next golf tournament (horrible to say, I know, but I know I make a valid point) than they are with a woman’s comfort level was not in their best interest. Every person interviewed regarding the various birthing techniques had their verbage clipped to ensure at some point they said that medical intervention is okay in particular circumstances. While the show didn’t state what I would have said, I am certain it alerted women to alternate options and there was a spike in online searching for alternative birthing options last night. We have to give each other as women more credit than we sometimes give them…some of us may have seen an unencouraging and close-minded interview last night…others may have seen a small glimpse of hope for a birthing technique they never knew of or considered. While the news tends to lean in one particular direction (and we all know what direction that is)…just simply talking about something such as extended breastfeeding, orgasmic birthing or homebirthing evokes a natural curiousity in others to find out more. That in and of itself could change the course of things in the birthing community…it may be slow and small change but inevitably it will still be change.

    Wow…did I just rant?! Maybe I should’ve just blogged about this. *hehe* Thank you for posting about this, Breanna!!

  5. Chelsea says:

    Good Job! Glad you blogged about this.. I couldn’t have said it in a better way.. You will never see me nursing a 8 year old kid though.. lol You already know how I feel about that!

Leave a Reply

