you raise me up

Posted: 01/26/2009 in sign language

you raise me up

here’s the deal. youtube muted my video because josh groban is in a lawsuit against youtube for anyone posting his stuff on the website. brother! so i had to figure out a way so you could still listen to the music while i’m signing it. 

click on you raise me up with the music and open in separate email. at the point where he is about to start singing, click play on the video of me signing it. they should play together from that point on. 

signing pals: please critique honestly and with love 🙂 for clarity, sign choice, and accuracy. 

the others: you can let me know how it makes you feel, if i’m too serious, etc. 

this is for a project saturday morning. i don’t think this spoils it for saturday. pretty sure everyone that reads my blog has not rsvp-ed… here’s hopin! 🙂

5hjpfs11

Comments
  1. stampit74 says:

    Beautiful! Amazing! thanks for sharing!
    where’s LF while you’re taping?

  2. breanna says:

    nappin 🙂 this is what i was doing when you called yesterday and i missed you…

  3. aj says:

    Oh it looks great to me!! Love it and the music worked out great!

  4. Shonya says:

    It looks beautiful to me. One thing I love about going to Beth Moore conferences is watching the signers–it just adds so much to me. I might think your face is a touch serious–some of those signers I’ve seen have so much expression on their faces and I feel like it helps communicate. Then again, that might be something they’re not supposed to be doing. 🙂 (what do *I* know?!) I just find it really moving, personally.

    I’ve got a couple dozen eggs set aside in the fridge in the garage for you, if you want to swing out and pick them up, that’s fine. We’re going with $2 per dozen and there’s a container on top of the fridge if I’m not home, just help yourself! 🙂 I should have you out sometime–it’s just the time element! What time does LF nap these days? We school in the am, lunch about 11:30, littles nap at noon or 12:30 until. . .(they’re still asleep now) and we finish up schoolwork. I’m just not sure when would work best!

    And that’s an awfully long comment–sorry! 🙂

  5. Britt says:

    I like it, and you def. have the almost two vote
    =-) Viv was waving her handsaround mimicing you, and getting all diva on me, trying to sing.

    a slight critique .. from someone who knows nothing, obviously .. it kinda felt like you were bored. I’ve seen you sign with super passion, but I’m not sure if you’re supposed to do that when you’re interpreting. And maybe it was just because you were doing this one for a tester. You always sign amazingly, but it’s always better with your Breanna spirit in it =-)

    Now I’ll have to play it again when KayLynn gets up .. then I’ll have two toddler performers, running around waving their arms and yelling, “You raise me uuuuuuup!!” lol

  6. breanna says:

    lol this is funny! thank you all for your opinions! 🙂
    those who have seen me sign before know, i’ve got facial expressions to beat all… maybe even a tad too much.
    i first videotaped this and did it without thinking, facials as usually, the works. then i watched it and went this feels overdone, fake, something isn’t right. this needs to be different; different than anything i’ve done before. i watched others signing this song on youtube and just felt like the facials were screaming and i couldn’t see anything else happening, the lyrics, the song, nothing…
    so i went all serious and liked it MUCH better. i’ve never felt this way before. it always seemed better with facials! this time, the facials were almost too much of me in the song and not enough of the song through me, like i was interference. i’m going to sign it a few more times (and videotape it so i can really see what i’m doing) and try to get my happy medium!!! 🙂

  7. Shonya says:

    Well, by all means, go with what you’re feeling! I can see what you would mean, that the facial from the interpreter could make the one ‘listening’ just experience it vicariously instead of for themselves. I would love to be able to do this–just don’t want to LEARN it! LOL 🙂

  8. Britt says:

    That makes sense .. it’s one of those powerful songs that evokes a lot of emotion, especially from those of us with expressive faces. =-)

    I hope you post more signing videos .. I just love it =-)

  9. MC says:

    I totally responded in the WRONG comment box…easily confused I guess. Yeah, I agree on the seriousness part. I think you definitely need more facial affect. I know the words at first are about before and then being lifted up. As for the signs (I watched it first without the music, then played the music so I could “feel” it more). I think after listening to the music…you definitely should add Breanna to it and put the praise and worship into it that you truly feel! I can see this song totally working with your facial affect! 🙂

Leave a Reply

