psalms 131:1

Posted: 04/27/2009 in me, spiritual growth

i do not get involved with things too great or too difficult for me. psalm 131:1

i don’t do this well. 

should i just stop there?

this was my beth moore “psalm of ascent” yesterday. 

eric and i just got into a tiff about footings. me butting in where i don’t belong. him being patient but only as much as he can take… 😦 no body’s fault but my own… 

i sit down with my study after he leaves, i’m to stay home and wait for lizzie faith to wake up then he’ll come back and get me. 

this is my study. 

first question i’m asked:

what are the top three reasons why you think God hates arrogance based primarily on the fruit of it in your own life?

do i have to answer that?!!!! God says, “YEP!” 

*sigh*

*answering question*

next i read:

humility is the truest sign of intimacy with God. 

oh! i want that!

then i read:

when we’re in over our heads and silence is our best option. 

seriously? is that up for debate? *sigh* deep down inside, i know this couldn’t be more true. 

am i alone here? this battle between human-ness and godliness… it’s so difficult sometimes, when God puts a mirror right up in your face and you just can’t get away from it, no matter how hard you try… 

i’m going to close this post with this verse that means so much to me right now. it puts me in my place in such a gentle but firm way. 

ecclesiastes 5:1-2 do not be quick with your mouth, do not be hasty in your heart to utter anything before God. God is in heaven and you are on earth, so let your words be few. 

5hjpfs5

Comments
  1. Shonya says:

    LOL!! Guess it hit us both, hmmm? 🙂 Pride–ugh, the devil gets me there every time!!!

  2. jenifriend says:

    psalm 131:1 really stands out to me in a literal sense of the scripture. in the past several months i had begun to overdo myself so much that i couldn’t function. i seriously thought i was going to have a nervous breakdown. it took one night of reflection for me to realize that i needed to really chill out and take each day as God gave it to me, not as i wanted to give it to myself. it’s made things soooo much easier. so we’re with you breanna; you are not alone in this! it’s hard to differentiate sometimes between when you want to say something and when something should be spoken. and it’s in finding that fine line and not overstepping it when we lose our pride and become okay in knowing that we do not always have to be the ones to say what needs to be said. 🙂

  3. breanna says:

    that is so huge for me! “…okay in knowing that we do not always have to be the ones to say what needs to be said.” so true for me!!!! thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

