gall what?

Posted: 06/16/2009 in health, me

so it looks like it’s gallstones… wow seriously. all this time.

i can remember the first time it was really really bad. i was pregnant with liz and trying to sew diapers and i realized the pain was getting worse and worse under the right side of my rib. i could remember something strenuous i had done prior and thought i must have pulled a rib out! it never got better… it just stopped. not even sure when. sometime, not long, after having lizzie…

i remember having pains between my shoulder blades for years and i’ve always had enzyme and digestive problems and a sensitive stomach…

yet, in the last 6 months it seems to have been slowly increasing. nausea, inability to eat – lose of appetite, sensitivity, weakness, headaches… (see lists below)

this morning i just mentioned something to my sister and we did some quick researching while we were on the phone and she started listing these symptoms to me.

  • Pain or tenderness under the rib cage on the right side
  • Pain between shoulder blades
  • Stools light or chalky colored
  • Indigestion after eating, especially fatty or greasy foods
  • Nausea
  • Dizziness
  • Bloating
  • Gas
  • Burping or belching
  • Feeling of fullness or food not digesting
  • Diarrhea (or alternating from soft to watery)
  • Constipation
  • Headache over eyes, especially right
  • Bitter fluid comes up after eating
  • Frequent use of laxatives

then she sent me a link to this website: gallbladderattack.com and i read these:

  • Moderate to severe pain under the right side of the rib cage
  • Pain may radiate through to the back or to the right shoulder
  • Severe upper abdominal pain (biliary colic)
  • Nausea
  • Queasiness
  • Vomiting
  • Gas
  • Burping or belching
  • Attacks are often at night
  • Attacks often occur after overeating
  • Pain will often but not always follow a meal with fats or grease
  • Pain may be worse with deep inhalation
  • Attacks can last from 15 minutes to 15 hours

i believe this is the point i started crying… i know, i’m dramatic. but the relief was overwhelming. i wasn’t going to die. i wasn’t going to have to live with all of this forever. i was going to be able to eat again and have more children and help eric build our house. i am going to be able to pack our house and move us a few car loads at a time myself… i could keep going but i won’t.

don’t judge me. after 6 months of these symptoms you would think you were dying too!

so are you wondering why i’m telling you this?? i’m wondering myself… maybe because i’m excited for a new phase in my life of eating and playing with my daughter… maybe because i believe this is curable without surgery… or maybe just cuz i couldn’t think of anything else to blog about today and i was in the mood to blog.

here’s what was recommended to me to do.

Gallbladder Cleanse

If you have blood sugar problems, don’t start this cleanse until after 2:00 p.m., and eat a good amt. Of meat earlier in the day, especially in the morning.

1. Magnesium citrate capsules and/or disodium phosphate with simply real apple juice to help round off gallstones

2. Drink apple juice all day long (fast on it).

If you have blood sugar problems, eat lots of meat protein for the first 2 meals of the day, then begin the apple juice fast after 2 p.m.

3. Mix 3 Tbls organic cream w/ 3Tbls 100% real lemon juice, drink it just before bed.  Lay on right side for 30 minutes, then go to sleep.

4. The next day, repeat step 2 and 3

today is day 1… shall i keep you posted? hmm  passing stones, maybe it’s not blog worthy… 😉 i imagine i’ll do some gallbladder support herbs and remedies after this cleanse too…  i suppose if you don’t hear me whining and complaining and you start seeing me in public again, you’ll know it all worked! 😀

5hjpfS

Comments
  1. sarah n says:

    Unfortunatly I have been to all those sites. I’ve had the same digestive and back pain since I was little. I started having gall bladder attacks when I was pregnant with Tate. It didn’t get diagnosed until I was pregnant with Callie. I had them SO BAD with Callie. It was the worst pain of my life by far. I thought I was going to die! I went to the ER in the middle of the night when I was 12 weeks pregnant with Callie b/c I couldn’t stand upright and seriously thought I was dying. They couldn’t do anything b/c of the pregnancy, and I continued to have them all throughout the pregnancy(I guess pregnancy hormones can cause them). It got so bad at the end that I had gall attacks every single day. I had no gall stones. They were going to do a test to see if my gallbladder even fucntioned, but before they did they wanted to test me for pregnancy and that is how I found I was pregnant with Callie. Anyway, I thought I’d have to have it removed(which I didn’t really want) after having Callie, but slowly they stopped, and now all I have is the more milder symptoms. I do know that lettuce is an evil thing for people with digestive problems. I had someone tell me to try not eating lettuce and I found it REALLY helped cut the amount of gall attacks I had. Hope that helps! I sympathize with you, gall attacks are #1 on my list of painful things. Hope the cleanse helps, I think I’m going to look into it myself!

  2. breanna says:

    how miserable! i haven’t had many attacks since being pregnant (typing this as i’m hopefully coming out of an attack – how many more times can it escalade during one attack anyway!) but they sure are horrible! the nausea is so overwhelming to me. it’s been so long and so bad for so long it’s hard to feel anything else beyond it… *sigh*
    praying for permanent sweet relief soon!!! (for both of us)

  3. Traci says:

    I feel so bad for you 😦 I feel your pain! I think my worst was when I had the “thralls” cookies and anything with garlic. So when I cut out butter and my milk for a week, I didn’t have one. That was hard to do since L was so little and nursing all the time. I’m glad you figured it out! It took me a while as well, I contemplated many many night about going to the ER and demanding they rip it out. yikes! That was before I researched it and found out that it was completely unnecessary. I’m just thankful mine didn’t happen 3-4years ago or I would’ve had the surgery done and had to deal with all the negative effects that my mom has to deal with for the rest of her life. 😦

  4. T. says:

    I had my gallbladder removed 3 years ago. I had exactly the same symptoms as you for months. I,j like you, really did think I dying! They were removed through laparoscopic surgery. Dr. said afterwards i had the “gallbladder” of a forty year old man who ate fast food all his life. This floored me because i NEVER and i mean NEVER eat fast food!!!! If I would have known about a Natural approach i may have tried it but my Gallbladder was removed 4 days later b/c the Dr. said it had to come out ASAP. Good luck and keep us posted on this approach…and if it works out. 🙂

  5. Shonya says:

    no judgment here, glad you figured it out! I think long-term illness is so hard and is depressing at the same time, to just not feel like yourself! Hope the real Breanna is back soon! 😉

Leave a Reply

