flip up flash cards

Posted: 06/13/2010 in lizzie faith

so i’m sitting with all my pillows propped up around me

my drink

my snack

i’m knitting

and half watching tv on a sunday afternoon

this infomercial comes on

my baby can read

have you seen it??

it’s pretty cool!

and their infomercial is very convincing.

i see that it doesn’t really teach them phoenics

it teaches word recognition/memorization

i’m thinking, super!

whatever works!

i have every intention of teaching lizzie phoenics

i can not sound out a word to save my soul

and eric is super at it

i see the benefits of it!

so i get up from my propped up spot on the couch and head to the computer to check this out and order it. (all the while i’m talking this all through eric, getting his input, seeing what he thinks)

i’m thinking, oh sure i could make them. but not as good or as exciting or as nice or as sturdy…

you get it.

so i go to the website, it was about $100 over what i thought it would be…

bummer.

that stinks.

my awesome hubby totes up my horribly heavy stash of cardstock and i get to work!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

i am in LOVE!

and lizzie has read through them with me 2 times since they have been finished (the first set of 20 anyway… lots more to go!) and is eating supper begging to read through them again. 🙂

perfect!

she did help me make them and went through each one asking what the words said before i had them glued together with the picture.

so excited to see the benefits of this

i’m thinking all this time nursing will be spent chilling with the baby, yes! but also learning to read! 🙂

Comments
  1. Pam Sparks says:

    very cool Breanna! so glad to read LF likes them!

  2. T.Biggers says:

    Bri….while the cards are a cool accessory to the total pkg…the DVDs are much more. A friend of mine has them and she’s a reading facilitator on an elem school. I would try to get the DVDs as well. There is something unique about them.

    Thanks for the idea to make them myself. I was saving up. 😉

  3. Brianna..you’ve inspired me to get started on my word/flash cards as well. How did you know which words to use and did you just do a google search for your pictures? I’m assuming the images above are the ones YOU did right? Would you mind sharing your word list? I contacted my friend for the list but she said she sold the set on EBAY b/c her DD had already mastered the set and had grown tired of it. 😦 I wish she would have called me.

    My email address is:
    t.biggers@gmail.com

  4. breanna says:

    uh yea! no joke about wishing she had contacted you!!! BUMMER!
    i don’t have the link, but i just googled ‘my baby can read word list’ and up popped a whole bunch of word lists. sweeeet! then i figured i would just find the dvd’s on ebay….
    i did just google for the pictures too…
    yep, these are the pictures of the ones i made lizzie. 🙂 we love them! have some that flip on the side and top (like shown here) and will make some that pull from the inside sometime…

Leave a comment