priorities

Posted: 09/06/2010 in family, jace legend, lizzie faith, me, spiritual growth

part of this problem i have with time is jace not sleeping!

he was a dream sleeper for 9 1/2 weeks.

WHAM!

it hit me like a bomb.

i have no idea what happened.

right now he is sleeping.

on the couch.

this is the first time he has slept outside of my arms in over a week.

(except at night. he is a dream sleeper during the night still! shwoo!)

this was what lizzie was like as a baby.

“as a baby”, meaning the first year of her life.

she did not sleep outside of my arms.

she did not play outside of my arms.

she did not like daddy or anyone else.

she wanted to nurse CONSTANTLY.

i will not let myself panic about jace becoming as high needs as lizzie…

thankfully, i never have to go through being a first-time-mom ever again. 🙂

regardless what happens with jace…

if he continues to nap on his own or if i rock him for an hour and a half everyday while he gets his BIG nap…

i will not become high strung like i was with lizzie.

i will not put a clean house or a ‘fancy’ supper ahead of him sleeping.

most importantly, i will not lose sight of how precious he is and how quickly it is all over.

thus, i will continue to sacrifice and meet his needs in whatever way.

Lord, give me strength.

isaiah 41:10

so do not fear for i am with you; do not be dismayed, for i am your GOD. i will strengthen you and help you; i will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Comments
  1. alyssa says:

    My daughter was just like that. She was very high-needs. She wouldn’t sleep unless she was could feel me near her or holding her. She nursed almost constantly. She’d scream horribly the second I put her in the car to go anywhere. The only people she would relax for was my mom & myself. It was very draining because I was trying to continue life in the same manner as I had before she was born and I had to learn to just set things aside and focus on her. She became my priority not how clean & organized my house was. First time mothering is such a learning experience! I’m hoping this next one is a little more laid back but if not, we’ll survive! My goal like yours is to provide for their needs, whatever that may be.

Leave a Reply

