one more

Posted: 09/24/2010 in ukraine adoption

we’ve got to rally to get one more out…

please.

Please allow me to introduce you to Yulia, who is almost three years old.

It is with tears streaming down my face that I come to you. I come to you, my bloggy friends, begging for help with the mission that God has set before me (and hopefully you too). I have never done anything like this on my blog and honestly, I don’t know how it is going to work out. But what a privilege and an absolute honor it is to do this for her, sweet Yulia!

I spent five weeks visiting with Yulia. I really have a very deep love for her. While I was never allowed to pick her up and cuddle her close to me, I was able to love on her in her crib. She is precious. She has the sweetest smile and a very, very tender spirit. She is tiny and very malnourished, as are all the kids in that room. She lives a life of hell on earth. There are no cuddles or loves. There are no warm embraces or playful hugs. Outdoor time is never permitted. Those four walls of the crib is the only life she knows. She is taken out only to be fed (as fast as humanly possible) and changed. But that is it. The children are treated harshly. She wears the same clothes for days on end and toys are few and far between. All dignity has been stripped away. She lies in her own urine for hours on end. Nobody cares.

Yulia, like all the kids in that room, is drugged day in and day out. All in the name of “best sleep,” I was told. Yeah, more like all in the name of keeping them still and quiet so that they are a far less burden to those assigned to their care. She cannot function properly due to the adult tranquilizing drug she is given daily. Yulia, like our Hailee, is considered what I believe the Bible refers to as “one of the least of these.” She has no value whatsoever. She is merely a body in that place. A corpse with breath that has to be fed and changed. A burden to society.

click to continue reading

it hits pretty close to home… someone else lived in that room.

Comments
  1. Pam Sparks says:

    do you know if this is an up to date photo of her at 3 yrs old? just hate that they drug them! I’m sure she is a lovely girl!

  2. breanna says:

    to my knowledge, this photo was taken in april/may of this year by the gal who wrote this post while she was visiting her daughter who also lived in this room….

Leave a Reply

