radical {chapter 1}

Posted: 07/06/2011 in books
Tags:

i started reading radical by david platt this week with a dear friend. can i just say coming to the place to read it is a few blog posts in and of itself… glorious and God filled does not near describe it.

i had all kinds of ideas about what this book was about – what it would make me do – how it would make me uncomfortable. slap me across the face and tell me i don’t need another pair of flip-flops. live bitterly without them.

wow. was i ever wrong.

heads up: no bookmark needed for radical. it’s SO obvious where you stop. the scribbles are EVERY WHERE.

the first challenge that struck me in chapter one was: am i going to believe Jesus? regardless of what he tells me. do i believe that he really will carry me through. (not my way of carrying me through, but his…). that hit me below the belt. it really did!

hold up, i made a decision prior to starting this book, that i would NOT blow anything off. i would digest everything and if i couldn’t commit to a concept i knew was straight from Christ then i would stop and chew until i was in 125%!

ok, what was i saying…? oh yea….

the cherry on top: am i going to obey Jesus? convo in head: well there was this one time, in an itty bitty way, i obeyed. so sure! i can do it again…. what if it’s a bigger one, like sell your house and move to africa? *pause* and then this thought crosses my mind: what if he tells me and i have (allow myself/choose) to turn away pretending that i didn’t hear his command. and then david platt writes,

“… my biggest fear even now is that i will hear Jesus’ words and walk away, content to settle for less than radical obedience to him. in other words, my biggest fear is that I will do exactly what most people did when they encountered Jesus in the first century.”

oh.

he nailed it AGAIN! man this guy is good. *flip book over looking for a picture of him* who is this guy? i’m only on PAGE THREE!!!

more to come…. go buy the book now and get to reading. before i tell you everything in it!

Comments
  1. aj says:

    life changing book!! I need to go read it again!!

Leave a Reply

